How To Factory Reset Your PS5 Console (Hard Reset) | NEW 2021!

Whether you’re trying to troubleshoot an issue, wanting to sell or give away your PS5 console, or to simply start over from scratch, doing a factory reset is necessary. In this guide, we’ll show you the easy steps on how to hard reset or factory reset your PlayStation 5 console.

What is PS5 factory reset?

In simple terms, factory reset is a restoration of a device software to its original manufacturer settings. Factory reset also removes any data added by the user to the system. 

How does a factory reset help in fixing issues on your PS5?

No gaming console is perfect and from time to time, software bugs and glitches happen. Factory reset is typically effective in fixing software issues, especially if problems happen due to games, applications, or any additional software or content.

Factory reset is a software restore which deletes user data, settings and data of applications, third party applications and any non-manufacturer factory settings and contents.

If the problem you’re experiencing in your PS5 is caused by incorrect settings, application or game bug, incompatible contents, or other forms of software glitch, factory reset may be your only way to fix it.

Factory reset works similarly to a process of reformatting a hard drive in computers.

How to factory reset your PS5 console?

Factory reset is a drastic solution that should not be performed right away when troubleshooting a problem. If you decide to do it, make sure that you are ready to lose your user data, settings, and installed games.
If you have run out of options and you are positive that you must try to hard reset your console, follow these steps:

  1. Go to the PS5 Home screen.

  2. Navigate to Settings (the gear icon in the top-right).

  3. Go to System.

  4. Select System Software.

  5. Select Reset Options.

  6. Select Reset Your Console.

  7. Select Reset.

NOTE: Factory reset will erase all content that are stored in your SSD. Make sure to back user data such as offline campaign progress or other personal files to a secondary storage or, if you have PS Plus membership, to the cloud.

Game progress that are stored in a game’s remote servers won’t be affected and you should gain access to them once you signed in to your account afterwards.

Other interesting articles:

Visit our TheDroidGuy Youtube Channel for more troubleshooting videos and tutorials.