How To Delete Your Spotify Account In 2021 | NEW & Updated

With over 130 million subscribers around the world, Spotify is one of the top music streaming services today despite having huge competitors like Apple Music, YouTube Music, Amazon Music Unlimited, Tidal, Pandora, SoundCloud, Noteflight, Deezer, and more. Although Spotify’s rivals offers a wide range attractive packages that some people may find attractive, this Swedish company has remained strong in the industry. However, if you’ve decided to switch allegiance and want to delete your Spotify account, you can do that anytime. 

In this guide, we’ll show you the steps on deleting your account on the Spotify website.

Reasons to delete your Spotify account

There are a handful of reasons why people cancel their Spotify account. The most common reason is to disconnect from Spotify services for good. 

Other people may want to delete their Spotify account to save money, especially if they simply don’t want to switch from Spotify premium to the Spotify free version. 

For some, cancelling their account is one way to stop Spotify from retaining their personal information since they don’t plan on using their service in the future.

If you want to close your Spotify account for whatever reason but can’t find the steps conveniently in the app, follow the steps in this guide.

How to delete your Spotify account in 2021?

Cancelling your Spotify account is not as straightforward as signing up. You need to go  to a particular support site of Spotify, communicate with a bot, and confirm that you want to cancel your subscription and delete your account.
Keep in mind that once you’ve already processed the request to cancel Spotify account, you are still given a 7-day grace period to cancel the request. This is designed for those who might want to reactivate their account after changing their mind. The reactivation process will not immediately restore your account though and the entire process may take up to 30 days to complete. Once the grace period is up, your account is permanently deleted from Spotify servers.
Once the account deletion process has started, you can wait for 14 days in order to use the same email address to sign up for a Spotify account again.
Below are the steps to delete your Spotify account:

  1. Open a web browser and head over to the Spotify support site.

  2. Sign in to the account you want to delete.

  3. Click on Account.

  4. Select I want to close my account.

  5. Select Contact to close.

  6. Click on Start Chat to begin your communication with the bot.

  7. Type your request to cancel your Spotify account.

    The bot should give you the final instructions on what you need to do to cancel your account permanently. Make sure to click on Close account in the chat box. You also need to confirm that you still have access to your email address.

  8. Check your email address that contains the link to confirm your account deletion and reactivation link.

What happens after you’ve deleted your Spotify account?

If you’ve confirmed to delete your Spotify account, all playlists that you’ve downloaded offline as a Spotify Premium user will be deleted from your Spotify app.

You’ll also lose your Spotify username as well as discounts that you may be enjoying like a student discount or family discount.

If there’s any subscription time on your account during the cancellation, you won’t be able to get them back even if you’ll use the same email address to create a new account later on. Once you’ve confirmed the deletion, all your Spotify details are permanently closed. 

OTHER INTERESTING ARTICLES:

Visit our TheDroidGuy Youtube Channel for more troubleshooting videos and tutorials.