How To Delete A Nintendo Switch User Profile | NEW in 2022!

In this article, we will provide a guide on how to delete a User Profile on your Nintendo Switch. There are many reasons why an owner of the gaming console wants to delete a certain User Account. It could be to replace the old with a new one, or the player of a profile is not using it anymore. If you are planning to do that but haven’t not tried it yet, the steps are very simple and easy to follow.

What is a User Profile?

User profile is an account used to manage each player’s save data and settings on a Nintendo Switch. Once a profile is created, the player has the option to link the said profile to a Nintendo Account and use the online features of Nintendo. 

Important Note in Deleting a Profile linked to a Nintendo Account

A Nintendo Switch player can delete a User Profile at any time. However, if the profile is linked to a Nintendo Account, the save data and software will be lost and cannot be recovered after it has been deleted. Also, after the account has been unlinked, the Nintendo Switch games purchased with the unlinked account will not be playable for the meantime. The games can be played again after it is linked to a new User.

How to Delete a Nintendo Switch User Profile

Removing a Nintendo Switch User Profile is not complicated but may be confusing for some, so just use the instruction provided below. 

  1. Go to the Home Screen of your Nintendo Switch.
  2. Select System Settings.
  3. Scroll down and select User.
  4. Select the User you want to delete. 
  5. Scroll down at the bottom and select Delete. If the User to be deleted is linked, a warning message will show indicating that the stored data in the console’s system memory will also be deleted. Also, If the Parental Control settings has been activated, a prompt will request for a PIN to be entered. 
  6. Tap Continue.
  7. Select Next.
  8. Select Delete This User. A confirmation will show the user has been successfully deleted.
  9. Select OK to return to the main settings.

Link a Nintendo Account to a Different User on your Switch

In order for the purchased games to work again, you need to link the account to another User on your Nintendo Switch. Here’s how to do it:

Link to a New Profile

  1. Go to the Home Screen of your Nintendo Switch.
  2. Scroll Down and select User.
  3. Select Add User if you want to create a new one or select one of the User Profile that is already available on your Nintendo Switch.
  4. Select Link to a Nintendo Account.
  5. Select Sign In and Link to link to an existing Nintendo Account.
  6. Select the sign-in method. You can sign in by using your email address or sign in using a smart device.
  7. Select Link. A confirmation email will be sent to confirm that you have successfully linked the User you have selected.

We hope that these instructions will suffice and help you with removing User/Users on your Switch and have fun with the amazing games available on your Nintendo Switch. If you happen to encounter any issues with your console, you can check other articles on our website regarding Nintendo Switch that might help. 

Suggested readings:

Visit our TheDroidGuy Youtube Channel for more troubleshooting videos and tutorials.