How To Delete Your Discord Account In 2021 | NEW & Updated

Just like all social media platforms nowadays, Discord lets you delete your account if you feel like doing it for whatever reason. In this brief tutorial, we’ll show you the steps on how to get rid of your Discord account easily. 

Difference between DISABLING and DELETING a Discord account

Before we show you the steps on how to delete Discord account for good, we want to make it a point that you also have an option to temporarily suspend your account without totally purging it from the Discord servers. If you are not 100% certain if you want to stop using Discord in the future, disabling your account is a better option for you. 

When your account is disabled, you won’t be able to use it again unless you manually do steps to recover it. The good thing about this option is that you can recover the account anytime you like.

This is in contrast to completely deleting it, which means that Discord will no longer have any record of your account details in their system. 

When your account is disabled, your PC or mobile app will no longer notify you but you can still receive friend requests. 

Required actions before you can permanently delete your Discord account

If you want to go ahead with account deletion, make sure that you prepare certain things first.

If you own a server or several servers, you want to make sure that you transfer the ownership of the server to someone else. You also have the option to simply delete the server

How to transfer Discord server ownership on PC

  1. Open the Discord app.
  2. Select the server you’re working on.
  3. Right-click the server icon.
  4. Hover the mouse over Server Settings and select Members.
  5. Find the member that you want to make as the new owner of the server and click the three dots on the right.
  6. Select Transfer ownership.
  7. Confirm the action.

How to transfer Discord server ownership on mobile (Android/iOS)

  1. Open the Discord app.
  2. Select the server icon you’re working on.
  3. Tap the three dots at the upper right.
  4. Select Settings.
  5. Select Members in the User Management section.
  6. Find the member that you want to make as the new owner of the server and select it.
  7. Select Transfer ownership.
  8. Confirm the action.

How to delete a Discord server on PC

Alternatively, you can simply delete the server you own if you don’t wish to have someone take care of it. Here’s how:

  1. Open the Discord app.
  2. Select the server that you want to delete.
  3. Right-click on the server icon.
  4. Hover the mouse over Server Settings and select Overview.
  5. Scroll down to the bottom and select Delete Server.
  6. Confirm by selecting the Delete Server button.

How to delete a Discord server on mobile

  1. Open the Discord app.
  2. Select the server icon that you want to delete.
  3. Tap the three dots at the upper right.
  4. Select Settings.
  5.  Tap the three dots at the upper right and select Delete Server.
  6. If you enabled 2-factor authentication or backup code for your Discord app, make sure to enter it before tapping the red Delete button to confirm.

How to delete Discord account permanently?

Once you’ve either deleted your servers or transferred their ownership to any of the members, you can then go ahead and delete your Discord account.

There are at least two ways to delete a Discord account permanently. One is by using a computer (Windows or Mac) and the other is by using a mobile device (Android or iOS). If you are using other devices such as a Chromebook, the general steps should be similar to the ones below.

Method 1: Deleting Discord account using a computer

  1. Open the Discord app and make sure that you’re signed in to the account you want to delete.
  2. Go to User Settings at the bottom left (gear or cog icon).
  3. Click the My Account tab and scroll down to the bottom.
  4. Click on the Delete Account button.
  5. Enter your 2-factor authentication or backup code to proceed. 
  6. Confirm the action to delete your account.

Method 2: Deleting Discord account on mobile

  1. Open the Discord app.
  2. Select your username icon at the bottom right.
  3. Select My Account.
  4. Scroll down to the bottom and select Delete Account.
  5. If you enabled 2-factor authentication or backup code for your Discord app, make sure to enter it before confirming the action to delete your account.

What happens after you’ve deleted your Discord account?

In case you change your mind after you take action to permanently delete your account, you have 14 days to recover it. Once the 14-day grace period has passed, your account will be totally purged from the Discord servers and you won’t be able to recover it at all.

OTHER INTERESTING ARTICLES:

Visit our TheDroidGuy Youtube Channel for more troubleshooting videos and tutorials.