When you reset network settings on Galaxy S20, or any smartphone for that matter, you are refreshing the network services. So if you have issues with your phone that are related to connectivity, such a procedure should be able to fix those problems.
That’s why if ever you encounter some issues with your phone’s connections, after doing some basic troubleshooting, you should not forget to reset the network settings. In this post, I will be showing you what you have to do to bring all network settings back to factory defaults.
How To Reset Network Settings on Galaxy S20
This is one of the resets you can do on your device but unlike the factory reset, only the network settings will be changed. In fact, the following will occur after doing this procedure:
- Paired Bluetooth devices will be deleted and Bluetooth service disabled.
- Stored Wi-Fi networks will also be deleted and the service disabled.
- Network selection mode will be set back to automatic.
- Mobile data will be turned on.
Time Needed : 3 minutes
Now, here’s what you need to do to reset network settings on your Galaxy S20…
- Launch the Settings app.
You can either pull the app drawer and tap the icon, or swipe down from the top of the screen and tap the gear icon.
- Find General management and tap on it.
You will have to scroll down to the bottom of the screen to find it.
- Touch Reset.
This will show you the other reset functions but what you need now is the network reset.
- Tap Reset network settings.
This will reset the services used by Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and mobile data.
- Tap the Reset settings button.
You will then be prompted to enter your security lock code.
- Lastly, tap the Reset button.
This will then reset the network settings on your Galaxy S20.
- Android 10, One UI 2.0
- Galaxy S20
The phone will not restart unlike other resets but all the changes will take effect in a few seconds.
Some FAQs About Network Reset
No. It deletes the network connections and reset the settings of all the network services on your device.
Yes. In fact, it’s not just the Wi-Fi password that will be deleted but the connection. All stored Wi-Fi networks will be deleted. Which means that if you want to reconnect to those networks, you need to enter their passwords one by one.
Yes. All Bluetooth connections will be deleted together with the network settings. So, you will have to pair your phone with your Bluetooth devices including your car.
Yes. It’s safe for both your phone and data. Only the network settings will be changed and no other, and only the wireless connections will be deleted and not your files, photos, etc.
Maybe. It all depends where the problem lies. If the issue is with your network device, then no matter how many times you reset the network settings on your phone, the problem will never be fixed. But if it’s just an issue with your phone, then this should help.
Resetting the network settings should always be one of the things you should do if you have connectivity issues.