How To Permanently Delete WhatsApp Account

You can permanently delete WhatsApp account from the settings of the app. Take note that this is an irreversible process wherein you won’t gain access to your account anymore. It may take up to 90 days to delete your information from the backup server however this won’t be available to anyone.

WhatsApp is a popular messaging app that allows users to send messages, make and receive voice or video calls and more using a Wi-Fi connection. It uses end to end encryption making sure that only you and the recipient can read the messages. It is currently in the limelight due to its new privacy policy that has concerned a lot of users.

Permanently Deleting your WhatsApp account using your Android phone

The recent announcement of a new privacy policy to be implemented by WhatsApp has a lot of people concerned. Some are even leaving the messaging platform for other alternatives. If you are concerned about your privacy while using the app then you might want to consider deleting it. Here’s how to do it.

Time needed: 5 minutes.

Delete WhatsApp account

  1. Open the WhatsApp app.

    You can easily do this by swiping up from the home screen and tapping the app icon.Permanently Delete WhatsApp Account

  2. Tap More options.

    This is the three vertical dots found on the upper right side of the app.Deleting WhatsApp account using your Android phone

  3. Tap Settings.

    This opens the app settings which you can manage.tap settings

  4. Tap Account.

    This allows you to make changes to your account.tap account

  5. Tap delete my account.

    This is where you will be able to delete your account.Tap delete my account

  6. Enter your phone number then tap DELETE MY ACCOUNT.

    This will confirm the account to be deleted.Enter your phone number then tap DELETE MY ACCOUNT

  7. Select the reason why you are deleting the account from the dropdown box then tap DELETE MY ACCOUNT.

    This will permanently delete your WhatsApp account.permanently delete whatsapp account

When the account has been deleted your message history will be erased, you will be deleted from all of your groups, and the Google Drive backup data of the app will be deleted.

After performing the steps listed above you will successfully permanently delete WhatsApp account using your Android phone.

Visit our TheDroidGuy Youtube Channel for more troubleshooting videos.

Also Read: