How To Factory Reset A Samsung Galaxy Device (Android 10)

Factory reset, also known as master reset or hard reset, deletes all user data such as apps, photos, videos, contacts, messages, among others, in your Samsung device and returns the software settings to their defaults. When you perform a factory reset, you are basically wiping the device and reprogramming its software so it works without the added stuff like your data, apps, and customization. After you reset your Samsung, it’s like setting up the device again out of the box.

Why you want to factory reset your Samsung

There can be varied situations that may call for you to perform a factory reset on your Samsung device. Since factory reset is mostly effective in fixing software-related issues, you may need to do it if the device appears slow, apps taking a long time to load and keeps crashing, or if a certain functionality does not work as expected. 

Aside from using it to troubleshoot a certain problem, you also need to factory reset your device if you plan on selling it or giving it to a friend or family member.

Before you factory reset

Prior to wiping your device, make sure that you create a backup of your irreplaceable data. We provide three ways on how to create a backup in Samsung below so it’s up to you which one to use.
If you are using an encrypted microSD card, be sure to decrypt it first before the reset. Not doing so will make the contents in your SD card unreadable since the key to decrypt it is tied to the specific software version in your device. Your newly factory reset Samsung won’t be able to generate the keys to access the contents in your SD card later.

Also, make sure that you have the correct username and password for your Google account. If you don’t have your Google account credentials, you won’t be able to access your device after the reset.

Performing factory reset on your Samsung via Settings

There are a number of steps that you must do in order to wipe your device. Follow the steps below to begin a factory reset.

  1. Open Settings app.

    You should find the Settings app in your Home screen or your Apps Tray.

  2. Tap General Management.

    Scroll down and select General Management.

  3. Tap Reset.

    Find Reset and select it.

  4. Tap Factory data reset.

  5. Tap RESET button.

    Scroll down and select Reset button. Just a reminder, this procedure will erase all your personal data from the device such as photos, videos, contacts, messages, apps, device settings, and others. Make sure that you back them up with Smart Switch, Google Cloud, or Samsung Cloud before you proceed. 

  6. Enter your Screen lock.

    This can be your PIN, pattern, or password to unlock the screen.

  7. Tap Delete all.

    This is going to confirm the factory reset action. Tap the button to start the wiping your device.

Suggested readings:

Get help from us

Having Issues with your phone? Feel free to contact us using this form. We’ll try to help. We also create videos for those wanting to follow visual instructions. Visit our TheDroidGuy Youtube Channel for troubleshooting.