We all know the drama around Google Hangouts. It’s at the end of its life cycle, and it’s pretty close to getting the axe, just like Google Reader did. However, despite being so close to the graveyard, Google is…upgrading it with a new feature. Yes, you read that right.
It’s a small feature, and more has to deal with online privacy. Once you update your Hangouts app, you are now able to block and report Hangouts users.
Google has always had the “block” feature available, but now they’ve expanded that function to send a user’s last 10 messages straight to the search giant, where they will supposedly review the messages and take actions based on that.
Right now, the feature is only available on the Web version, though we’re assuming it gets pushed out to the Android app soon.
via: Google Play