Archives for

Tera: Rising

Number Of TERA Players Continues To Grow After Going Free To Play


Last February 5, En Masse Entertainment’s massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) called The Exiled Realm of Arborea, or simply TERA, upgraded its status from pay-for-play into free-to-play game. The free-to-play feature coincided with the game’s transition into TERA: Rising.

A few days ago, a TERA representative confirmed with Gamespot that it resulted in additional players worldwide. Now, the total number of players in the game is over 1 million, wherein 500,000 of the accounts came from Europe.

Based on the source, it should be noted that the over 1 million figure is based on the number of registered players. Then, the number of characters made by these players is around 1.5 million.

Statistics say that the most popular race in the game is the Castanic race. Humans and High Elves only rank next to it. On the other hand, the most preferred class in this MMORPG is the warrior class, followed by the sorcerer and archer classes.

More About The Update

En Masse announced that TERA: Rising comes with additional quests, new dungeons, new player versus player (PvP) battlegrounds and more in-game contents. Although there is no longer a subscription fee required to play the game, players can still enjoy advanced customization for their characters and more privileges by availing the 30-day “Elite” status for a fee. This has resulted to the Chronoscrolls being phased out, though existing ones can still be sold to non-player characters (NPC) for a 2,000 instant gold.

About TERA

TERA was developed by the Blue Hole Studio and distributed by En Masse Entertainment, Frogster Interactive Pictures, NHN Corporation and NHN Japan Corporation to the different regions of the globe.

Basically, all the things that you can find in a typical MMORPG such as leveling up, questing, PvP, item crafting and other factors are present in this game. But instead of clicking on enemies to attack, it uses a crosshair cursor to engage it. Evading or dodging attacks are also done actively.

The game consists of seven races like the Aman, Baraka, Castanics, Elins, High Elves, Humans and Popori. Each has a male and female gender that players can choose from, except from the Baraka, Elin and Popori which are gender specific.

Then, it has eight races that can match a player’s preference or fighting style like the Warrior, Archer, Sorcerer, Slayer, Priest, Mystic, Lancer and Berserker. Each class has a certain specialty and abilities that can be customized by the user. For instance, a Priest specializes in healing, Mystics are good in supporting characters in a party, and Sorcerers do ranged magical attacks or Area of Effect (AoE) spells that can do heavy damage to multiple opponents. The archer is a ranged damage class that is great in dealing damage using a bow and it can also trap opponents. Lancers are basically the tanks in the game, meaning they can absorb more punishment than anyone else while the Slayers, Berserkers and Warriors are good at dishing out melee damage. However, the Warrior class can be made into a hybrid tank and melee type character or any of the two.

Sources: Gamespot and En Masse Website