Instagram is a popular social networking site that is available primarily on mobile devices and concentrates more on the sharing of visual content. It’s like a simplified version of Facebook that allows you to post photos or videos, like and comment on other post, and follow other people among other things.
One concern some people have about this service is how to block someone on Instagram DM. In this latest installment of our troubleshooting series we will show you how to do this.
If you have any issues with your computer or Android device then feel free to contact us using this form. We will be more than happy to assist you with any concerns that you may have with your device. This is a free service we are offering with no strings attached. We however ask that when you do contact us try to be as detailed as possible so that an accurate assessment can be made and the correct solution can be given.
How To Block Someone On Instagram DM
From the desktop
- Go to the user’s profile that you want to block.
- You’ll see the three horizontal dots next to the account name, the “Following” button and the down arrow button. Click on them.
- A pop-up window will appear. Click the middle option, “Block this user.”
- Another window will pop-up asking if you’re sure you want to block them. Hit “Block” again if you are.
- A confirmation pop-up will appear. Click “Dismiss” to return to Instagram.
From the Instagram app
- Go to the user’s profile by typing in their name in the Search tab.
- On the upper-right corner of your screen you will see three horizontal dots, also known as the menu button. Tap on that.
- A pop-up window will appear, and from that menu, select “Block.”
- On the confirmation message that appears, click “Dismiss.”
What happens when you block someone on Instagram DM? They won’t be notified that they have been blocked by you. Their previous likes and comments on your posts will still remain but you can delete them freely if you want to. They can also see your likes and comments on public accounts.
The messaging thread of the person you blocked will still remain in your direct inbox however you will not be able to send them a message. If you’re in a group message with the person that you blocked you’ll get a dialog asking whether you want to stay in the group or leave. If you choose to stay in the group, you’ll be able to see messages from the person you blocked in the group.If the person you blocked sends you any messages in Direct, you will not receive those messages, and they won’t be delivered later if you unblock them.
Engage with us
Feel free to send us your questions, suggestions and problems you’ve encountered while using your Android phone or computer . We support every computing device that is available in the market today. And don’t worry, we won’t charge you a single penny for your questions. Contact us using this form. We read every message we receive but can’t guarantee a quick response. If we were able to help you, please help us spread the word by sharing our posts with your friends.