Google play store gets a ‘People’ section to share apps and connect with other users

Posted on Apr 3 2014 - 5:44pm by Rodge

The Google Play Store is Android’s depository of applications where developers upload their applications for users to officially download them.  If you are an Android user, you probably already know this, but what you may not have heard already is that the play store just got a new feature that will show you what applications your friends and colleagues are downloading.

Google Play Store People

The Google Play ‘People’ section is a new addition to the Google Play application on your Android device that will add a new menu titled ‘People’ which when you follow, will take you to some sort of mini-social setting where you can access lists of friends sharing their list of apps with you.  At the beginning, users will have the option to opt-in to ‘People’s’ section which will present them with application recommendations especially from businesses and persons that are familiar.

When I can be able to share my list of programs with you, it would be very easy to recommend applications and easily get application reviews from someone you know (me) if I have gotten to try it, before you choose to download.  Tapping on a person’s or a business’ name on the ‘People’ secion of Play Store opens a new menu that displays some of their recent activities – but only to do with applications.  I suppose this means installation dates, reviews, wish lists etc.

Google’s ongoing integration of all their services applies to this new feature of the play store too.  Users will be able to view fill Google+ profiles of other Google Play People members, discover their app and even get to learn more about them based on their app downloads and use.  This platform has the ‘follow’ feature which means that one can only view the apps and activities that the people they follow choose to share, or if they choose to share with public.

This feature is in the server side of the Google Play Store, which means that you will not need to update the Google Play Store app on your phone.  As of publication, the feature was already functional for some users, especially those in the mid-west of the country (US).  There hasn’t been an official announcement yet, but it should come soon.  We will scrutinize this feature and publish what we find out here, so check back later.

Is this feature a good idea or is Google taking stalking to a whole new level?  Let us know what you think.

via 9to5Google.com

tags:

 Subscribe to our newsletter!

We respect your email privacy

About the Author

Tech geek. Qualified IT professional. Freelance writer. More importantly, a lover and follower of anything Android. Rodge has managed to perfectly blend passion, work and education, thanks to the simplicity of online publishing.