, ,

How to Prevent Anyone on Google+ from Flooding Your Gmail

If you are a Google fan with a Gmail and Google+ accounts, the news that, you must be (or should be) worried by the news that anyone on Google+ could send you emails directly to your Gmail inbox  – via the browser or mobile apps.  Well, the good news is that there is a trick you can use to prevent this before the floodgates open and your inbox is flooded with emails from stalkers, spammers, scammers or worse exes.

The new feature is designed to allow any user on Google+ to email other Google+ users they follow even if they don’t know them or they are not in their circles – they don’t even need to know their email addresses to send an email to their inboxes.  The new feature will be turned on by default and will be rolling out in the next couple of days but here is how to disable it.

Although anyone can email you on Google+, your Gmail address will not be visible unless you reply to the message.  To stop this, you will need to change your Google+ settings but if you just want to allow only people in your circles to email you , you can keep the ‘Email via Google+’ feature enabled but restrict which circles or users can email you.

Step 1: On your Gmail page, navigate to the top right corner of the page and click on the Settings icon (a cog wheel icon) and on the drop down list click on ‘Settings’.

Step 1 - Gmail Settings

On the ‘General’ tab of the Settings panel, scroll down to the ‘Email via Google+’ label.  To the right of the label, you will see a drop down list box with a ‘Who can email you via your Google+ profile?’ label to its left.

Step 2 - Gmail Settings

The drop-down menu has items several options you can choose from as shown in the image – ‘Anyone on Google+’, ‘Extended circles’, ‘Circles’ and ‘No one’.  Make your pick.

Step 3 - Gmail Settings

After choosing one item, scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on ‘Save Changes’ before exiting the page.

If you cannot see the Who can email you via your Google+ profile?’ section on your Gmail page, you may have to wait and try at a later time – days perhaps – because Google is still in the process of rolling out the feature and it may not have reached you yet.