How to Delete Nexus 4 Auto Backup Photos

Posted on Aug 21 2013 - 5:00am by Phil

nexus 4

Some Nexus 4 users have been asking how to delete the pictures stored under their auto backup. According to them, they can delete the photos under the Camera option but the ones stored under their back up can’t be erased since there is no option that provides such function.

After doing some research on numerous websites like XDA Developers and Android Central, here are the solutions that we found out about this particular Nexus 4 issue:

1. Disable Nexus 4 Auto Backup

This is to prevent the Nexus 4 from automatically storing photos in its backup:

  • Sign in with your Google+ or Picasa account.
  • Proceed to Settings.
  • Go to Camera & photos.
  • Select Auto Backup.
  • Toggle the switch to Off.

2. Unsync Picasa

The next thing that you should do is unsync your device from Picasa. Here is a way to do this:

  • Go to Settings.
  • Choose Accounts and Sync.
  • Tap the account that you want to unsync.
  • Uncheck the box beside Picasa Web Albums.

3. Delete the Backed Up Photos

The backed up photos in your Nexus 4 should still be in the Gallery since the first two methods presented above will only let you prevent your device from automatically backing up your files. So, to permanently delete the stored photos in your backup, follow the steps below:

  • Go to Settings.
  • Proceed to Application Manager.
  • Tap All to get a complete list of the apps available in your Nexus 4.
  • Scroll down until you find the Gallery option and tap it.
  • Press the Clear Data button
  • Hit OK.

Email Us

These solutions should enable you to disable the auto backup feature of your Nexus 4 and delete the backed up photos in its memory. For more questions or additional solutions that you wish to share to us, feel free to email us at [email protected] or hit the comment box below.

 Subscribe to our newsletter!

We respect your email privacy

Tags: , , ,

About the Author