,

Instagram Now Has Photo Tagging Feature

Popular photo sharing and social networking service Instagram has just introduced a “Photo of You” feature that allows you to tag people in photos. The company, which was acquired by Facebook last year, said that the new feature which lets users add “who” on their photos will complement the already available “what” and “where”. Instead of using the term “tag”, which is used in Facebook, the company is calling it “add”. You will be able to access this new feature by updating your app through its respective channels which is either the App Store or Google Play.

instagram

Instagram explained in their blog post that you can now add people to your own photos. “Today, we’re excited to introduce Photos of You and bring you a new way to share and discover stories on Instagram. When you upload a photo to Instagram, you’re now able to add people as easily as you add hashtags. Only you can add people to your photos, so you have control over the images you share. And it doesn’t stop at people–you can add any account on Instagram, whether it’s your best friend, favorite coffee shop or even that adorable dog you follow.”

Here’s how the new feature works. Once you upload a photo using Instagram you will have the option to “Add People” from the share screen. When you tap on the person on the photo a question will pop up on the screen asking “Who’s this?” You can then choose a name from the drop down menu or search for the person.

You can also add people from previously uploaded photos. All you have to do is click on the “…” to the right of the comment button.

As far as privacy goes the default setting of Instagram is that it automatically allows other people to tag you in their photos.

If for instance you don’t like the photo you are tagged in you can easily untag yourself by clicking on your name on the photo then More Options > Remove Me From Photo.

Photos that you are tagged in will appear in a new tab located on the right menu bar on your profile page called “Photos of You”.

Anyone will be able to see photos that you are tagged in if your profile is set to public. If you have a private setting then only your confirmed followers will be able to see your tagged photos.

via instagram