Problems Android users might encounter with Picasa; users’ questions answered

Posted on Jan 26 2013 - 9:40am by Harold Hisona

Aside from providing accurate search results, Google also did a good job in centralizing services it is offering for its users. In fact, it has always been so successful in implementing things to automate its services and bring better user experience, although some of them may cause annoyance to users who want nothing but simplicity and efficiency. One of the things that many Android users are complaining about is Google’s Picasa service.

tdg-picasa

How to Sync/Unsync Android With Picasa Web Album

Photos from your computer/laptop can be viewed in your Android phone or tablet. For people who love sharing their photos with friends and families, this service will come in handy and more convenient because photos can be shared with social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter and Google+.

However, not all Android users know that when their phone is synced with Picasa, all of their photos will automatically be downloaded to their phone eating so much space in the memory. Fortunately, there is an efficient way to sync/unsync your phone (I’m using Samsung Galaxy S3 to demonstrate) with Picasa.

Step 1: Tap on “Menu” button and choose “Settings” option.

Step 2: Scroll down a bit and find option “Accounts & Sync.”

Step 3: At this point, you should already be seeing a list of Google accounts you’ve added into your device if there’s more than one. Tap on the account you want to sync/unsync with Picasa Web Album.

Step 4: If you want to sync your photos you’ve imported to Picasa Web Album, check the box beside the option, or do otherwise if you want to unsync. That little checkbox has the power to store thousands of photos into your phone so always remember how to turn it on and off.

How To Sync Specific Photos Only

In Picasa, there is no option to sync a single photo or two because when you “Enable Sync” the entire folder/directory will be synced with your phone. There is, however, a common workaround on how to sync select photos only.

Step 1: Create a new album in Picasa. Find that little icon with blue book and plus (+) sign underneath the Menu bar. Give it whatever name you want.

Step 2: Choose photos you want shared. You can hit that CTRL button on your keyboard and click on photos you want.

Step 3: Once you have selected them, right-click on one of them and choose “Add to Album” option and select the album you just made.

Step 4: One the left pane, click on the album you created a while ago and it will show photos you’ve chosen to be shared. Above those photos, find “Share” button and click on the small down-arrow and choose “Enable Sync.”

After you’ve done the above steps, wait until photos in the new album are all synced with your Android phone.

Basically, since there is no option to sync a single (or a few) photos on Picasa, you will need to create a new album and add all photos you want shared into it.

How To Prevent Photos From Showing In Albums Again

Reader’s problem: I took a photo that I erased, and now it appears in my picasa album, how is that possible??? and I can’t delete it!!!!

I would like also to find a trash bin to send everything I don’t want, please help me!!!

What happened here is that photos taken by the user using her smartphone were shared to Picasa and downloaded them to be shown in albums. The thing is, if pictures from Picasa can by synced to Android, so are photos from Android to Picasa.

Common sense would tell us the only way to get rid of those photos for good is to delete them from the phone and from Picasa. However, that’s not entirely accurate because sooner (or later) you will find those photos in your phone and Picasa albums again. Why is that? The culprit is the Google Plus! It serves as the bridge between Android and Picasa.

So, here’s how to delete photos for good:

Step 1: Delete them from your phone.

Step 2: Delete them from your Google Plus account (http://plus.google.com).

Step 3: Delete them from your Picasa Web Album.

When deleting items in your computer, they will automatically be sent to the recycle bin, which can be restored. However, deleted items from your phone cannot be retrieved.

How To Delete Synced Photos From Gallery

Reader’s Problem: I have already disabled the sync between my phone and Picasa but photos are still showing in my Gallery.

Photos from Picasa are actually downloaded to the phone’s memory during synchronization that is why, they still appear in the Gallery of your device even if the sync has already been disabled. The best thing for you to do is clear the data of your Gallery app.

Step 1: Tap on Menu button and choose Settings.

Step 2: Scroll down and look for Applications Manager.

Step 3: Tap on All tab to display all applications installed in your device.

Step 4: Look for Gallery app and tap on it.

Step 5: Clear data => OK.

After this, you will not be able to see those photos again.

Do you have technical concerns you want answered?

Send us an email at [email protected] and we will do our best to provide solutions.

 Subscribe to our newsletter!

We respect your email privacy


Tags: , , ,


About the Author

Harold works as an Android support technician. He remains an active contributor to The Droid Guy providing free support to its readers by addressing their problems and questions. He recently launch his small blog, Droidista.com, which serves as an online journal for his works.